current | older | profile | links | rings | cast | reviews | quizzes
email | gbook | notes | host | image | design

My Friends RAWK!!!
2004-06-21 - 6:31 p.m.

My Friends RAWK!!!

Since a lot of my previous posts have been griping and bitching about things, I thought that I'd let you know that I'm not a total sourpuss. Yes, there are things that aggravate me in life, and they are fun to write about. But I'm generally a good-humored person, so I thought that I'd let you know about something that makes me genuinely happy.

My friends RAWK!!!

That's right. My friends don't just rock. My friends are so brilliant that they RAWK!!! I have a collection of extremely bright, caring, and quick-witted friends. And I would like to tell you about them. And about how much they RAWK!!!

If laughter is the best medicine, I'm certain that I'll live well past 100, because my friends keep me laughing a lot. I try to have a movie festival at my house at least once a year, where I invite all of my friends to watch three films back-to-back. We sit around, eat pizza and sub sandwiches, drink beer and soda, and go all Mystery Science Theatre on the films.

We usually pick a theme, and try to get three films to fit into the theme. We've had the Ass-kicking Asian movie festival (Sonny Chiba, Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan); Spy Movies (In Like Flint, Modesty Blaise, Undercover Brother); Halloween Horror (Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Halloween, Phantasm) and others. It's best when you take a film that was intended to be taken seriously, but it just didn't clear the bar. These films are just ripe for the picking, and we pick on them pretty heavily.

Anyway, ripping on these films is fantastic fun, especially because my friends are so damned funny. My friends love being caustic and irreverent, so a good time is always had by all, although we all usually wind up with really sore stomachs by the end of the day, just from laughing so much. Good abdominal workout though.

My friends are also really smart about lots of different things. My friends are really knowledgeable about history, electronics, computers, music, construction, banking - the list goes on and on. If I ever wind up on "Who Wants To Be A Millionaire", I've got all of my lifelines covered.

My friends also rock because they are selfless, and we all help one another when we can. I used to live in Ohio a few years back, and when I decided to move back home to Virginia my best friend flew to Ohio to drive my car to Virginia, so that I could drive the moving truck. That is the very definition of a best friend. If you've ever driven the Pennsylvania Turnpike, you know what I mean.

There's a joke that friends help you move, but real friends help you move bodies. And while it will never come to that, I'd wager that I have friends like that. And when you get down to it, that's the best thing that anyone can ever have. Yes family is important, but if you are extremely lucky you can count your family members among your friends. Some people can't, which sucks. But at the end of the day, whether you have money or you're poor, the best thing that you can ever have is your friends.

So, if you have friends, find ways to help them and let them know how much you appreciate them. If you don't have friends, go get some. It's the best thing that you will ever do.

There. See, I can be happy.

But I promise to bitch about something next time.

previous - next

want to get notified when I update my site?:
EMAIL:
Powered by NotifyList.com